Special Meeting June 6 + Club Members Running as DNCC Delegates!

Democrats for Equality,

After our club’s executive board met this weekend, we are excited to announce that we will be holding a special club meeting on Saturday, June 6 at 2:00pm!

We will be meeting via Zoom, and we’ll have the meeting registration link and more information forthcoming.

Also, we will consider a slate of friendly incumbent endorsements on consent (see our Club Endorsement Calendar below), as well as consider an endorsement for Imperial Beach City Council District 2, and hear a special presentation on ReWild Mission Bay — which the club may consider supporting after the presentation.

Special thanks to club members Cody Petterson and Tommy Hough who are both leaders at our fellow Democratic club, San Diego County Democrats for Environmental Action, for setting up this special presentation.

As a member of the Captain Planet generation, I’m excited to learn more about this much-needed conservation effort in Mission Bay. The power is yours!

Our 2020 Democratic National Convention was recently rescheduled to mid-August, and due to the ongoing pandemic the process by which to elect delegates to represent your presidential candidate of choice has changed.

We have several club members running in either the Bernie or Biden caucuses — but, before we get to that, here’s the process if you’re interested in voting in the district-level caucuses:

Step 1. Select which candidate’s caucus you would like to participate in. You may only request one ballot, and may not vote in multiple caucuses.

Biden Caucus Here

Bernie Caucus Here

Step 2. Request an online ballot during the ballot request period May 19th-May 28th @ 5:00pm

Step 3. Complete your online ballot. Online ballots will be emailed to ballot requesters on June 5th.

Step 4. Submit your online ballot by the deadline of June 7th @ 5:00pm.

Note: You must complete the ballot with the same voter registration information the Secretary of State has on file for you. If you need to check that, check your voter registration here.

Finally, here are our club members running in each caucus, by congressional district. Bold names are members of our club’s executive board.

Congressional District 52: Ben Aguilar, Rebecca Phillpott

Congressional District 50: Matt Corrales
Congressional District 51: Paloma Aguirre
Congressional District 52: Cody Petterson, Kevin Lourens
Congressional District 53: Evlyn Andrade, Michelle Krug, Chyann Cox, Jose Caballero

If you are voting in either caucus (remember, you can only vote in one caucus), then we’d encourage you to vote for these club members.

Finally, on the heels of some openly racist incidents in Santee over the last couple weeks, our County Supervisor Nathan Fletcher pushed for the Board of Supervisors to adopt the Leon Williams Human Relations Commission. If you’re interested in applying to be a member of this new commission, please submit an application here!

I love you all,

Ryan Trabuco
Club President
San Diego Democrats for Equality