Freedom Awards Nominations Are Open!

Democrats for Equality,

Mark your calendars!

Our upcoming Freedom Awards will be a brunch event on Saturday, January 11 at 11:00am at the History Center. After the celebration, we’ll invite all of our guests and attendees to check out the LGBTQ+ exhibit that runs through January 20th.

The Freedom Awards is our club’s signature fundraising event (tickets will be available soon!), where we honor those club members and activists who have made a positive impact over the last year in a number of categories.

Candidates nominated to be honored must meet the appropriate criteria:

A. Brad Truax Human Rights Award – This award, considered the Club’s highest honor, is presented to an individual who has made sustained and significant contributions toward the advancement of lesbian, gay bisexual, and transgender rights, at the local, state, or national level. The recipient need not be a Club member.

J. Douglas Scott Award for Political Action – This award is presented to a Club member who demonstrates political action within the lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual community and the Democratic Party. The award recognizes political work done within the Party to educate and advance the political agenda of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender movement and/or work within the community to encourage participation in the Democratic Party and electoral process.

Gloria Steinem Award for Communication – This award is presented to an individual or organization who has worked to educate the non-gay/lesbian/ bisexual/transgender community about our needs and create avenues of communication between the two communities.

Eleanor Roosevelt Award for Community Service – This award is presented to an individual or organization who has demonstrated service to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender community through participation in other organizations and community events.

R. Steven Pope Award for Volunteerism – This award is presented to a Club member who demonstrates outstanding volunteerism within the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community, the Club, political campaigns, and the Democratic Party. The award recognizes the need to acknowledge volunteers who consistently and selflessly give their time and energy to further the Club’s political agenda.

Christine Kehoe Award for Excellence in Elected or Appointed Office – This award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated excellence through their leadership, and has made a significant, positive impact as an elected official or appointed official.

Herb King Lifetime Achievement Award – This is a special award (not routinely presented every year) given to a Club member for in recognition of many years of extraordinary service to the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community.

Submit your nominations for our Freedom Awards today!

Also, our annual Super Duper Democratic Club Holiday Party Potluck has been set for Friday, December 13th from 5:00pm to 8:00pm, and will be hosted at the beautiful Bay Park home of Susan Guinn and Denice Feldhaus.

Finally, don’t forget our next club meeting is on Thursday, November 21st! We’ll again be meeting at the special time of 6:30pm so that we can get through all those races on our agenda.

I love you all,

Ryan Trabuco
Club President
San Diego Democrats for Equality