Equality Act, State Budget Forum, Bylaws, and Club Meeting Next Week!

Democrats for Equality,

Earlier this week, Speaker Pelosi and Congressional Democrats introduced H.R. 5, the Equality Act — a bill that would add “sexual orientation” and “gender identity” to classes protected against discrimination by the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

If the bill were to be passed and signed into law, it would be the first nondiscrimination law for LGBTQ Americans at the national level.

21 states, including California, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, and D.C. have LGBTQ discrimination protections laws on the books.

Among our local delegation, Representatives Scott PetersMike Levin, and Juan Vargas all tweeted out their support for H.R. 5

As of Wednesday afternoon I didn’t catch a tweet of support from Congresswoman Susan Davis, but she has been a longtime ally of our LGBTQ community. She co-sponsored the Equality Act in a previous session of Congress, so there’s no need to think that she wouldn’t be supportive of this year’s Equality Act.

Radio silence, of course, from Congressman Duncan Hunter.

In other news… later this month, our Senate President pro Tempore Toni Atkins, Senator Ben Hueso, and Assemblymembers Dr. Shirley Weber and Lorena Gonzalez are hosting an informational community forum on the state budget, and how it affects the San Diego region.

The forum will be held on Thursday, March 28 at the Educational Cultural Complex (4343 Ocean View Blvd. in San Diego) from 6:00pm to 7:30pm. If you’re interested in attending, please RSVP at this link.

Finally, our new executive board will be sworn-in at our club meeting next week on Thursday, March 21 at 7:00pm. We’ll be meeting at Joyce Beers Community Center in Hillcrest.

As mentioned at last month’s meeting, we will be bringing back proposed language regarding club regional directors for our bylaws.

A full review of these proposed changes can be found here.

We will be honoring and thanking our outgoing executive board members —Craig Roberts, Mary Latibashvili, and Sapphire Blackwood for their contributions in service to our incredible club. We’ll have something special for Will Rodriguez-Kennedy to honor his leadership as our club president, too!

And we will swear-in our new 2019-2020 Executive Board:

President: Ryan Trabuco (me)
Vice President for Resource Development: Amy Kuhn
Vice President for Political Action: Susan Guinn
Secretary: Rickie Brown
Controller: Carlos Salazar
Sergeant-at-Arms: Ryan Darsey
Board Members At-Large: Michelle Krug, Ilka Weston, Brandon Coopersmith, Andrea Cubitt
Immediate Past President: Will Rodriguez-Kennedy

The next chapter for San Diego Democrats for Equality begins next week, and we hope to see you there!

In Solidarity,

Ryan Trabuco
Vice President for Resource Development
San Diego Democrats for Equality