Endorsements for City Council District 3! (San Diego & Chula Vista)

Democrats for Equality,

Last night’s club meeting resulted in two more endorsements for the 2020 election cycle!

We are proud to have endorsed City Councilmember Steve Padilla for re-election to the Chula Vista City Council in District 3.

It should not be lost to recognize the importance Steve Padilla has played in LGBTQ electoral politics in our region. He was one of the youngest and the first Latino ever elected to the Chula Vista City Council back in the 1990s, and became the first openly LGBTQ Mayor in San Diego County during his time as Mayor of Chula Vista.

As a member of the California Coastal Commission (Vice Chair, actually), Steve Padilla continues to blaze a path of success for our region, for the environment, and for our region’s second-largest city in Chula Vista.

Finally, we are excited to announce our endorsement for Stephen Whitburn to be our next San Diego City Councilmember in District 3!

We want to thank fellow candidates Chris OlsenToni Duran, and Adrian Kwiatkowski for participating and answering some phenomenal and tough questions put forth by our members about the future of our city and Council District 3.

Council District 3 has a special place of pride for San Diego Democrats for Equality. We are the club that fought for district-specific elections back in the late 80’s/early 90’s which led to the historic 1993 election of Christine Kehoe — the first member of the LGBTQ community ever elected to office in San Diego.

In the years since, our club has played a significant role in defining the electoral history of LGBTQ elected officials from Council District 3: Toni AtkinsTodd Gloria, and Chris Ward.

Our club will dedicate the work necessary to add Stephen Whitburn as the successor to that distinguished list.

Council District 3 is home to a number of older neighborhoods in our city, and there is a significant infrastructure challenge that needs to be met. We have a serious homelessness crisis — and the city needs to implement a compassionate, comprehensive plan. We have a housing crisis and housing affordability crisis. We are living in a climate crisis.

The next city councilmember from District 3 will have the platform and the opportunity to display leadership on all these critical issues, and to work with our next Mayor (Todd Gloria) to champion solutions to the challenges of our time.

Our club’s motto says it best: our members make history.

Let’s continue that history with Stephen Whitburn as our next City Councilmember from District 3.

In solidarity,

Ryan Trabuco
Club President
San Diego Democrats for Equality