Election Results: As of Wednesday Morning…

Democrats for Equality,

One of the most consequential primary elections of our time, resulted in some wins and losses.

Despite the nervousness of seemingly low ballot returns as late as last week, Democrats across the nation, across California, and here locally seem to have turned out in force yesterday.

So what we’ll do here is go through our Voter Guide into the races we considered and made recommendations in to see how well we did.

Obviously, there are thousands of late absentee ballots left to be counted, and those will be tallied in the days and weeks ahead.

The following is with 100% of the precincts reporting at 3:30 this morning — and yes, I’m up this late to type all this out because your club president loves you.

PRESIDENT: Bernie Sanders or Elizabeth Warren

Bernie Sanders appears to have the lead across California and in San Diego County. Elizabeth Warren appears to have placed 4th statewide and countywide.


PROPOSITION 13 (Statewide): YES
MEASURE B (Countywide): NO
MEASURE C (City of San Diego): YES
MEASURE D (City of San Diego): YES
MEASURE E (City of Chula Vista): YES

Unfortunately, the statewide educational facilities bond appears headed to defeat. Measure C is currently over 63% and needs two-thirds to pass. However, the final result may not be known for several weeks depending on how late absentee and provisional ballots go.

Meanwhile, we were on the right side of Measures B, D, and E.


DISTRICT 49: Mike Levin
DISTRICT 50: Ammar Campa-Najjar
DISTRICT 52: Scott Peters
DISTRICT 53: Georgette Gomez or Sara Jacobs

It appears our club went 100% on our congressional choices.

In the 50th Congressional District, it appears that Ammar Campa-Najjar will be facing off against former Congressman Darrell Issa. So… although Carl DeMaio appears to have lost another congressional race, he did come in 1st for the Republican Central Committee… so, ya know… consolation prize, I guess?


DISTRICT 39: Toni Atkins

Our Senate President pro Tempore was unopposed — as it should be.


DISTRICT 71: Elizabeth Lavertu
DISTRICT 76: Tasha Boerner-Horvath
DISTRICT 77: Brian Maienschein
DISTRICT 78: Chris Ward
DISTRICT 79: Dr. Shirley Weber
DISTRICT 80: Lorena Gonzalez

It appears our club went 100% on our Assembly choices.

By the way, it was mentioned last week that no Republican candidate in the 77th Assembly District has ever won the primary election by less than 12 points. Our endorsed candidate Brian Maienschein is leading by 9 points — that is a 21-point swing towards the Democratic candidate in only two years! Go Brian!


OFFICE 18: Roberta Winston
OFFICE 22: Alana Wong Robinson
OFFICE 30: Tim Nader
OFFICE 36: Michelle Ialeggio

It appears Roberta Winston was unsuccessful, however Alana Wong Robinson appears to have won outright, and Tim Nader will be in a run-off this November.

Michelle Ialeggio absolutely crushed the soul of her racist, sexist, transphobic opponent — and in a fitting form of justice, the most qualified woman in the race won, and won big. Michelle Ialeggio received the most votes of any candidate running countywide — she’s at 299,039 votes at this time — and will end up well north of 300,000 votes when it’s all counted.


DISTRICT 1: Nora Vargas
DISTRICT 2: Kenya Taylor
DISTRICT 3: Olga Diaz or Terra Lawson-Remer

As we wait for the final tally to be counted, Nora Vargas is a hair away from advancing into the run-off for Supervisor in District 1. Sadly, the numbers are not promising for Kenya Taylor to advance into the run-off.

In the hotly-contested District 3 Supervisor race, it appears that Terra Lawson-Remer will be facing off against the Trump Republican incumbent.



SAN DIEGO UNIFIED DISTRICT A: Steph Groce or Sabrina Bazzo

It appears our club went 100% on choices for Community College. Sadly, it does not look like Steph Groce will be moving forward in the San Diego Unified election.


MAYOR: Todd Gloria

Todd Gloria made history last night, and it looks like he may face Republican Scott Sherman in the run-off. We’ll have to wait to see the final result after all the ballots are counted to determine for certainty who Todd’s opponent will be.

Meanwhile, Mara Elliott crushed it in her primary performance earning over two-thirds of the vote.


DISTRICT 1: Joe LaCava or Will Moore
DISTRICT 3: Stephen Whitburn
DISTRICT 5: Marni von Wilpert
DISTRICT 7: Raul Campillo
DISTRICT 9: Kelvin Barrios

It appears our endorsed candidates Stephen Whitburn, Raul Campillo, and Kelvin Barrios all strongly came in first in their elections. Marni von Wilpert is 20 votes from first place as of Wednesday morning.

Also, it should be noted that collectively Democratic candidates earned over 56% of the vote in Council District 5, and over 68% of the vote in Council District 7. Republican-turned-NPP Mark Kersey currently holds District 5, and Republican Scott Sherman holds District 7.

As of this morning, Joe LaCava is moving ahead to the run-off while it remains to be seen who he will be facing in District 1.


DISTRICT 3: Steve Padilla
DISTRICT 4: Andrea Cardenas

It appears our club went 100% on our choices for Chula Vista City Council. Our LGBTQ incumbent Councilmember Steve Padilla has a 21-point lead over his nearest opponent and is well over 50%.

Meanwhile, Democratic candidates collectively received over 50% of the vote in District 4 against Anti-LGBTQ incumbent Mike Diaz. This dude hangs out, and otherwise openly communicates, with members of the noted hate group MassResistance. It will be a priority for this club to get Andrea Cardenas across the finish line in November.


DISTRICT 1: Cori Schumacher

Our trailblazing LGBTQ Councilmember Cori Schumacher looks to have easily won the special election in Carlsbad for District 1. Councilmember Schumacher will now have the opportunity to continue to serve on council for the next three years.

All in all, our club was on the right side in at least three of five ballot measures, and out of the elections we endorsed a candidate in, we were successful in all but three — and that’s assuming Nora Vargas does not advance to the run-off.

Not bad at all.

Finally, I want to give a shout out to my brother, my bestie — our amazing Party Chair¬†Will Rodriguez-Kennedy. With the first major election under his belt as our Chair and 100% of precincts reporting, the results speak for itself:

Votes cast in the Republican Primary: 171,260
Votes cast in the Democratic Primary: 263,146

San Diego Democrats crushed it, in no small part to his ability to organize and run circles around the opposition. There are 350,000 late absentee and provisional ballots left to count, and the votes received by our Democratic candidates countywide will only increase.

When you wake up today — send Will an email and tell him thank you. He’s earned it!

Of course, as ballots continue to be counted, we’ll be sure to update you if anything significant changes.

Now… time for sleep.

I love you all,

Ryan Trabuco
Club President
San Diego Democrats for Equality