January Club Meeting & ADEM Elections

Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara took the oath-of-office on Monday (Jan 7) becoming California’s first LGBTQ statewide office holder.

Democrats for Equality,

On Monday, January 7th, we welcomed our new statewide elected officials into office, including Governor Gavin Newsom, Lt. Governor Eleni Kounalakis, Treasurer Fiona Ma, Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara, and State Superintendent for Public Instruction Tony Thurmond.

Controller Betty Yee and Secretary of State Alex Padilla were sworn-in to their second terms, and Attorney General Xavier Becerra was sworn-in to his first full term.

Lt. Governor Eleni Kounalakis is the first woman ever elected as our state’s second-in-command, and Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Laracracked the pink ceiling (his words) becoming our first LGBTQ elected official in statewide office.

We have also updated the Resources page on our club’s website to reflect our new Democratic elected officials at the federal, state, and local levels.

Our next club meeting will be Thursday, January 17 at 7:00pm at Joyce Beers Community Center in Hillcrest (3900 Vermont Street). We’ll be welcoming guest speakers from our brothers and sisters at the San Diego Labor Democratic Club for a “Labor 101” presentation.

Also, we will be holding elections for positions for Club Representative for the Democratic Party, and GO Team liaison. We will also select our Nominating Committee for club officer elections to be held in February.

Finally, ADEM elections are coming up this month! Assembly District elections are held every two years to elect delegates to our state party’s convention. 14 delegates (7 self-identified females, and 7 self-identified males) and 1 executive board representative are elected per Assembly District.

If you are not sure which Assembly District you live in, please check your address at this website.

A number of our club members are running, some on uncontested slates, and we wanted to highlight them here:

AD 71 (East County) – Saturday, January 12
Doors Open: 12:00pm, Voting: 12:30pm – 2:30pm
Location: El Cajon Library, 201 East Douglas Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92020
Club Members: Evlyn Andrade-Heymsfield, Ryan Darsey

AD 75 (Inland North County) – Sunday, January 27
Doors Open: 11:30am, Voting: 1:00pm – 3:00pm
Location: Discovery Elementary School, 730 Applewilde Drive, San Marcos, CA 92078
Club Members: Terry Corrales, Matt Corrales (E Board)

AD 76 (Coastal North County) – Sunday, January 27
Doors Open: 11:30am, Voting: 12:30pm – 2:30pm
Location: Oceanside Public Library, 330 North Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054
Club Members: Cori Schumacher (E Board), Chris Barroso (E Board), Jim Hesson, Kyle Bright

AD 77 (Inland North San Diego & Poway) – Sunday, January 27
Doors Open: 12:00pm, Voting: 1:00pm – 3:00pm
Location: IBEW Local 465, 7444 Trade Street, San Diego, CA 92121
Club Member: Indroneal Banerjee
Slate: See below

AD 78 (Southern Coastal San Diego) – Sunday, January 13
Doors Open: 12:00pm, Voting: 1:00pm – 3:00pm
Location: Musicians Association Local 325, 1717 Morena Blvd, San Diego, CA 92110
Slate: See below

AD 79 (Southeastern San Diego) – Saturday, January 26
Doors Open: 12:00pm, Voting: 12:30pm – 2:30pm
Location: Johnson Elementary School, 1355 Kelton Road, San Diego, CA 92114
Club Members: Alyce Pipkin-Allen (E Board), Andrea Beth Damsky (E Board), Mary Latibashvili, Temika Cook, Dave Myers, Ken Malbrough

AD 80 (Southern San Diego County) – Saturday, January 12
Doors Open: 12:00pm, Voting: 12:30pm – 2:30pm
Location: Olivewood Clubhouse, 541 East 24th Street, National City, CA 91950
Club Members: Georgette Gomez, Michelle Krug (E Board), Rickie Brown, Sara Kent, Manny Gonzalez, Nathan Fletcher, Rafael Perez, Ramon Marquez

In Solidarity,

Will Rodriguez-Kennedy
San Diego Democrats for Equality